Borough Council

Borough Council Group PhotoMeetings

  • 6 pm
  • 1st and 3rd Monday of each month.
  • Borough Hall
    420 S. 10th Street
    Emmaus, PA 18049

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


It is comprised of seven members, each elected at large for four-year overlapping terms. After each general municipal election (i.e. every two years), Borough Council is reorganized and a Council President is selected from among members to preside over Council meetings and other events. 

  1. Brent A. Labenberg

    Brent A. Labenberg

    Council President

  1. Chris DeFrain

    Chris DeFrain

    Council Vice President

  1. Roy D. Anders Jr.

    Roy D. Anders Jr.


  1. Chad Balliet

    Chad Balliet


  1. Shana L. Baumgarnter

    Shana L. Baumgarnter


  1. John W. Hart

    John W. Hart


  1. Teri Sorg-McManamon

    Teri Sorg-McManamon



Borough Council is the legislative body of the Borough.


The primary duties of Borough Council include

  • Adoption of the annual budget
  • Establishment of policies for the conduct of Borough affairs
  • Enactment of ordinances and resolutions for the protection of the public’s safety and welfare
  • Approval of contracts and bids

Council is also responsible for the appointment of the Borough Manager and other respective officials, along with members of various municipal boards and commissions.


During the biennial organizational meeting, the President of Council assigns each council member to the committees they will serve on: